Senior School Update

Academic Honours

Congratulations to all students who achieved Gold Academic Honours.  Silver Academic Honours will be presented in Year Level Assemblies this week.  The Academic Scholar Award is presented to our overall top scholars who gained endorsement in four or more subjects:

Level 1

So Hee Kwon
Gerard Bautista
Joaquin Badenas
Serena Locke
Benjamin Botting
Albin Paulson
Hyebeen Park

Level 2

Johann Ang
Grace Baragwanath
Rachel Chen
Anna Sajan
Jennifer Zeng

NCEA Pilot Subjects

Sancta Maria College is a pilot school for the new Level 1 NCEA standards in Religious Education, Japanese, and Mathematics and Statistics.  All Level 1 parents should have received an email providing more information about this.

Tracking NCEA

Over the coming weeks, your child will be entered for their NCEA standards. Please check the portal regularly to see what they are entered for.  It is important to support your child’s achievement by checking what assessments they are entered for. Course Outlines should have been provided by each subject teacher showing approximate timings for all assessment opportunities. These are available via your child’s Schoology account or in their exercise book.

If you have any concerns, please do not hesitate to contact subject teachers or the Year Level Dean.

Scholarship results for 2022

We would like to Congratulate all our 2022 NCEA Scholarship recipients.  Our school are pleased to announce that a number of our 2022 Year 12 and 13 students received NCEA Scholarships this year.  Amongst them were our top achievers:

  • Mikaela Lai gained an Outstanding Scholarship in Photography
  • Ethan Rogacion gained 3 Scholarships (History, English, Statistics)
  • Hayley Clark gained 2 Scholarships (Biology, English)

The following students also received Scholarships in:

Art Department
Mikaela Lai         Photography (Outstanding)
Kathleen Shi       Sculpture
Technology Department
Thomas George (Digital Technology)
Joseph George   (Digital Technology)
English Department
Hayley Clark
Ethan Rogacion
Adrian Vargas
Social Science Department
Ethan Rogacion (History)
Josh Balisa          (Classics)
Jennifer Zeng*   (Geography)
Health and Physical Education Department
Anais Bebelman*
Stella Cranwell
Science Department
Hayley Clark       (Biology)
Ashley Liu            (Biology)
Religious Education Department
Alanna Santoso*
Mathematics Department
Ethan Rogacion (Statistics)
*Year 12 student

Thank you to all teachers and HODs who worked tirelessly to develop our Academic Excellence Programme in 2022.  We celebrate 16 Scholarships awarded us and congratulate all our students who achieved their best, in particular our Year 12 who did extremely well.  We prayer for an even better 2023 for our students.

We would also like to familiarise and once again congratulate our 2023 Prefects:

Head Prefects: Marina Jones and Benedict Loulie-Wijtenburg
Deputy Head Prefects:
Community: Navhil Singh and Alannah Santoso
Special Character: Alexandria Lazatin and Johann Ang

House Prefects:
Akaroa: Yohan Solanga Arachchige Don and Jennifer Zeng
Hokianga: Francesca Camacho and Amadeo Tangdilambi
Kororareka: Quintin Wong and Aloyze Tafu
Waitemata: Yalaina Tubu and Jayden Lai

Portfolio Prefects:
Arts: Megan Bottom and Ella Dickens
Sports: Dennis Tam and Mariella Venida
Cultural: Nathaniel Kim and Anna Sajan
Academic: Grace Baragwanath and Nathan Chin
Wellbeing: Aimee Smith and Jaiden Beltran
International: Grace Chen and Jarra Piatos
Kaitiakitanga: Mary Aguirre and Sarah McCormick
Service: Daniel Pereira and Teresa Croker